Skip to main content


Title: Environmental overview for Central Area 2001
Author: Environment Agency North West Region
Document Type: Monograph
This is an environmental overview of the central area within the North West Region. The Central Area is defined by the natural boundaries of five river catchments; the Alt, Douglas, Lune, Ribble and Wyre. The coastline is an important area for tourism and wildlife. It forms our Western boundary from Warton Sands in the north to Crosby in the south. It encompasses the tourist towns of Morecambe, Blackpool, Lytham St Annes and Southport which contrasts with the wildlife rich estuaries of the Ribble and Morecambe bay. Near the coast are also the ports of Lancaster, Fleetwood and Preston. The flatlands of the coastal plain then rise into the scenic hill country of the Bowland fells and in the Northeast the Yorkshire Dales National Park. The Southeastern side of our area follows the chain of East Lancashire towns, including Colne, Burnley, Accrington and Blackburn that developed in size during the industrial revolution. This leaves the Southwestern boundary that is much more developed and includes Preston, Wigan, Kirkby and the top of Liverpool. This document contains sections in air quality, climate change, water quality, flood defence, flood warning, land, waste management, wildlife and biodiversity.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: 2001
Publication Place: South Preston
Subject Keywords: Environmental managementAir qualityFlood controlLand useBiodiversityWater managementWater qualityWater pollutionBathing waterRiver fisheriesRivers
Geographic Keywords: EA North WestAlt Crossens catchmentWyre catchmentLune catchmentRibble catchmentDouglas catchmentCumbriaLancashire
Extent: 79; + maps
Total file downloads: 335

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab