Skip to main content


Title: Protection through partnership : Devon area
Author: Environment Agency South West Region Devon Area
Document Type: Monograph
Bringing together a number of environmental bodies, the Environment Agency took up its operational role as environmental guardian on 1 April, 1996. The Agency's primary aim is to protect and improve the environment and make a contribution towards the delivery of sustainable development through the integrated management of air, land and water. The South West Region of the Environment Agency, with a population of four million people, covers Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset, Bristol, South Gloucestershire and most of Wiltshire. It has specific responsibilities for water resources, pollution prevention and control, waste management, flood defence, fisheries, conservation and recreation. To ensure close contact is kept with local communities the South West Region is split into four areas - each with its own Area Manager and staff. Teams work on the ground using local knowledge and contacts to maximum effect. The four areas are Cornwall (based at Bodmin), Devon (Exminster), North Wessex (Bridgwater) and South Wessex (Blandford). This leaflet outlines the work of the Devon Area.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: [after 1996]
Publication Place: Devon
Subject Keywords: Environmental managementStrategiesPartnershipsSustainable development
Geographic Keywords: EA South WestDevon
Extent: n.p. [8]
Total file downloads: 2

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab