Skip to main content

Geographical Term Details

Derwent (NW) catchment

Definition (

The Derwent CFMP area lies within North West Cumbria. Most of the CFMP area is within the administrative boundary of Allerdale Borough Council, with a significant proportion within the Lake District National Park Authority (LDNPA). It covers a total area of 1,235km2 and has four significant river systems (Derwent, Ellen, Wampool and Waver) which drain the northern fells of the Lake District and the Solway Basin into the Irish Sea. (EA)

Preferred Units: N/A

Scope Note:

Broader TermsNarrower TermsRelated Terms
English catchment basin

Geographical FeatureIs Geographical Feature of

This term is used for the following terms: 

Approved Date

Click here to give feedback on this term or suggest an update.