Skip to main content


Title: Recreation fact file (6/9)
Author: Environment Agency
Document Type: Monograph
England and Wales are divided into eight Environment Agency regions. Thames Region is responsible for the protection of a 13,000 square km area of great diversity. The Region extends from Cirencester in the west to Southend in the east and from Luton in the north to the Surrey Downs in the south. Because this area contains a fifth of the nation's population, development pressures and demands on natural resources, particularly water, are greater than elsewhere in England and Wales. Thames Region is subdivided into three areas (West, North East and South East) which are the first point of contact for local issues. Recreation, the subject of this leaflet, is one of the Agency's key responsibilities. The others Conservation, Water Quality, Fisheries, Flood Defence, Navigation, Water Resources, Waste Regulation and Integrated Pollution Control are covered in separate leaflets.
Publisher: Environment Agency
Publication Date: [after 1996]
Publication Place: Bristol
Subject Keywords: Environment AgencyRecreationInformation dissemination
Extent: n.p. [6]
Total file downloads: 288

Download PDF    Display PDF in separate tab